Introduction

alg-gay-marriage-jpg

For many Canadians members of the LGBT community, July 20, 2005 is a very memorable day. It was the day that Canada became the first country in the America’s and the fourth country in the world to legalize same-sex marriage nation wide after the enactment of the Civil Marriage act.

Canada is most often referred to as one of the most-gay friendly countries in the world so much so that a few of our largest cities, Toronto, Vancouver, Montreal and Ottawa even have their own gay villages. Recent polls have indicated that a large majority of Canadians support Same-Sex marriage, which is an awesome fact to know that our country has come so far in supporting equality for the LGBT community.

Growing up in a country that has such huge support for those who are LGBT has had a great impact on my view to those who are lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgendered. I never once considered them as an outsider as it is my personal belief that you can’t control whom you are attracted to. When I was 15 years old one of my good friends came out to me. I remember how nervous she was to tell me that she liked the same sex and I remember assuring her that I would never judge her for whom she liked and I will support her through every step of her coming out process. Since I was 15 I have witnessed the struggles many of my friends had to face through being LGBT. Although Canada is thought to be gay friendly, the LGBT community still face discrimination from time to time.

However the even though the LGBT community isn’t perfect in Canada those living in this country who are LGBT have it easier compared to some countries in the world.  The fact that I live in a country where gay rights for the most part are accepted and I still witness my friends go through struggles due to their sexual orientation makes me think how much worse their lives would be if they lived in a country where gay rights are not accepted at all. For this reason I was inspired to create a blog which analyses current gay rights across the globe. This blog will focus on the abuse and discrimination many LGBT face world wide due to their sexual orientation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

