LGBT Iranians seek Community over the Internet to avoid Execution

images-1

In Iran those homosexuality considered a crime punished by imprisonment or even execution in more extreme cases. Those LGBT Iranians who chose to come out risk being tortured solely for their sexual orientation. The article titled “Iran gay report highlights isolation, abuse and fear” discusses findings of a report based on the LGBT community in Iran. The report found that many LGBT Iranians are expressing their true self and finding a sense of community through the use of the Internet. Many of the people interviewed in this article emphasis that they don’t feel part of their community, they feel like outsiders and seeking a community on the Internet gives them a sense of self worth.

The quote that really struck me in this article was made by a 26-year-old male to female transsexual from Lorestan. She states, “I am a human being, but I was created with an imperfection. I’m someone that nobody wants to be friends with, someone that even her own family doesn’t like. Nobody will employ me because of the way that I am.” As a straight, female living in Canada I could not imagine living a life where I had no friends, family and no career path. Those are the three most important things that keep me going everyday. This woman goes on to say I long to become a woman, get married, have a family and find a good job. I like to be surrounded by people, but people always reject me. It’s as if I’m from another planet and they don’t want to be seen with me.’ Unfortunately this is what all LGBT Iranians feel and it is something that will continue to be felt unless the laws change.

Unfortunately those laws will not be changed anytime soon. After the report was released the president of Iran slammed the LGBT community for engaging in ugly behavior. He quoted “Do you believe that someone is born homosexual? Homosexuality ceases procreation.” As long as the president is against gays the laws will remain the same, which is a very unfortunate fact for the LGBT community in Iran.

Article found at:

http://www.gaystarnews.com/article/iran-gay-report-highlights-isolation-abuse-and-fear110512

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

